A warm welcome to our guest curator @clarentina

Clare has volunteered to curate our @nursingSUni twitter account for the week commencing 23rd May 2016. We love having guest curators to build our networks. Here’s a little bit about @clarentina 

I am aScreen Shot 2016-05-21 at 09.01.07 second and final year student living in South London. Sound a bit weird? Let me explain. I am one of a small bunch of student nurses who are studying nursing after completing a first degree. I graduated from the University of Manchester (@OfficialUoM) in Cell Biology in 2009 and spent four years working for Anthony Nolan (@anthonynolan) helping to match donors with patients in need of a bone marrow transplant. After an amazing four years I decided I wanted to play a more frontline role and applied for nursing. I started my PgDip Adult Nursing at @lsbu_hsc in 2014 and am due to graduate in September 2016- hoping to take up a newly qualified nurse post at @uclh.

I love nursing but I have also seen plenty of ‘the other side’ as I live with type 1 diabetes. I am routinely cared for by fantastic staff who inspire me for my future career. Type 1 diabetes makes working on the ward a bit tricky, but I muddle through. As such, I am interested in patients living with long-term conditions and co-write a blog, diabeticshambles.org. When I’m not nursing, I love running, and am trying to run a mile every day in 2016. How that fits in with long days remains to be seen!

The first day of my curation of the Twitter account will be the first day of my final placement so wish me luck! I’m looking forward to chatting to other student nurses around the country.

Leave a Reply

