Amanda Miller discusses Bedpans and Bandages from the lecturer perspective

Amanda Miller discusses the perspective of a lecturer being filmed for Bedpans and Bandages:

Last year I had heard a few whispers that nursing students from the University of Salford (@SalfordUni; @NursingSUni) had been chosen to be filmed for a new ITV documentary about their training. At this point little did I know that I would be part of this experience. However my initial thoughts were what a great opportunity this would be for Salford University and the students.

Once the filming had started the student experience lead for the School of Nursing, Midwifery, Social Work and Social Sciences (@levylass) contacted me by email asking if I was available to facilitate a session in the high fidelity simulation (HSF) laboratory. Being a keen and enthusiastic HFS facilitator I thought this was an excellent opportunity to demonstrate how students learn from simulation. Simulation in nurse education is not a new concept and is widely recognised as a form of pedagogyThe Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) (2010) recognise that simulation can account for three hundred hours of practice which enables the student to develop skills in a safe environment and yet still attempt to mimic reality (Wilford and Doyle, 2006). All pre-registration students @NursingSUni will experience simulation during their programme and in particular will engage with mannequins that can talk, breathe, sweat and bleed, namely high fidelity simulation.

It was agreed that @Asuleman11 and @DanielleHarriso would be participate in a short clinical scenario using HFS. I would be facilitating the scenario alongside @Lgreene68 in the control room and @wlasinclair role playing the mother of Jake (the HFS mannequin). It was important (as with all HFS sessions) that the students were prepared prior to going into the laboratory. They were given a brief outline about the way the scenario would run and what the learning outcomes were. They were then taken into the laboratory and the clinical simulated scenario ran as planned. We performed a debriefing at the end which is a crucial part of HFS. I was then interviewed by the crew about how I thought the students had performed. The whole process was filmed and having seen the edited version as I was pleased with how well it flowed and appeared on the television.

Although I consider myself an experienced and competent facilitator of HFS I was somewhat anxious prior to the filming. I had envisaged a vast amount of equipment, big furry microphones and numerous takes to ‘get it right’. However it was nothing like that at all…rather it was informal and the scene and equipment were far from cumbersome. There was a small handheld video recorder and just two crew. The filming seemed very succinct and organised and there was no requirement for rehearsals or retakes. As soon as I realised this and had met the friendly crew then I relaxed. I was still slightly apprehensive about my own performance. I was conscious that I was representing the University from an academic perspective and as a lecturer I wanted to ensure that I was a credit to the University and the students. I hope I did not disappoint. I thoroughly enjoyed being involved in this experience and if they come back for more filming will I put my hand up again…? Indeed I will.

References

Nursing Midwifery Council (2010) Standards for pre-registration nursing education. NMC: London

Wilford, A, Doyle, T (2006) Integrating simulation training into the nursing curriculum. British Journal of Nursing 15(17) p 926-9

Leave a Reply

